• Wed
      3:00 pmAuditorium

      Title. Touch the Sky With Glory:
      The Nation’s Air Power – The Weapon Systems of the IAF, its contemporary technology and our capability to secure the Nation
      Speaker.: Air Marshal Simhakutty Varthaman PVSM AVSM VM VSM (Rted)

    • Wed
      3:00 pmAuditorium

      Title. The work of three World War Two cartoonists
      Speaker. Mr. E.P. Unny, Chief Political Cartoonist, The Indian Express.

    • Wed
      3:30 pmAuditorium

      Speaker. Mr Nakul Bhalla

      About the speaker. Mr Nakul Bhalla is a graduate in mechanical engineering from the Manipal Institute of Technology. He worked as a central planning engineer at Larsen and Toubro limited and then as a research assistant at IISc Bangalore. Starting a new chapter of his life, he joined the Dramanon Theatre Company as a creative partner and then later went on to start his own theatre company, The SparkPlug Theatre Company which is more than three and a half years old now.

  • Event Information:

    • Mon

      Crosstalk 6. Electronic Warfare during World War II

      5:30 pmConference Room
      Speaker. Dr. Swaroop Sahoo
      Title. Electronic Warfare during World War II
      Abstract. During World War II various countries attained varied level of technological expertise. The technological expertise or readiness covered various fields of science and technology. Some of the fields with lot of research activities, inventions, design and experiments were electronic warfare and navigational technology.
      This talk will give an introduction to various electronic warfare techniques, related hardware inventions and uses. It will also provide an insight into the war doctrines of countries and resultant uses of electronic warfare of 1935-45. This talk will also introduce the basic details of the navigational technology used by guided bombers (for bombing and landing) and first missiles (V1 and V2) of World War 2 years.


  • Event Information:

    • Mon

      Cellular evolution to 5G

      14.00 Hrs to 15.00 HrsRoom No.125

      Cellular evolution to 5G

      Dr. R. David Koilpillai
      Qualcomm Institute Chair Professor (EE Department)
      Dean (Planning)
      Indian Institute of Technology Madras
      Chennai 600036, India


      R. David Koilpillai received the B.Tech degree from IIT
      Madras, and the MS, PhD degrees (all in Electrical Engineering) from California Institute of
      Technology, Pasadena, USA.

      Work Experience
      In June 2002, David joined IIT Madras as a Professor of Electrical Engineering, and currently
      holds the Qualcomm Institute Chair Professorship and is Dean (Planning). During the period
      April 2008 – December 2009, he served as the Co-Chair of the IITM special Task Force for
      setting up the new IIT at Hyderabad. David also served as Head, Central Electronics Centre
      of IITM during 20010-11. David’s technical areas of expertise include cellular and broadband
      wireless systems, and DSP techniques for wireless communications. He is the Faculty
      Coordinator of the IITMSAT Student Satellite initiative. During Jan – July 2007, David was on
      sabbatical from IITM and served as the Chief Scientist, Centre of Excellence in Wireless
      Technology (CEWiT), a public-private R&D initiative of the Govt. of India, and was
      responsible for launching the national project – Broadband Wireless Consortium of India
      (BWCI). Prior to joining IITM, David was at Ericsson USA for twelve years, where he held
      different technical and managerial positions. In 2000, he became the Director of the
      Ericsson’s Advanced Technologies and Research Department at RTP, North Carolina. In this
      role, he was responsible for an R&D team of 75 engineers developing GPRS/EDGE handset
      technology. At IITM, David has established an active research and teaching program in
      wireless communications and DSP.
      Honours / Awards
       Qualcomm Institute Chair Professorship (March 2016)
       Awarded 32 US patents, 10 Canadian Patents and 19 WIPO/European patents
       Over 70 journal and conference publications
       1999 –“Ericsson Inventor of the Year” award, the highest technical recognition within
       Nov 2003 - Elected Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering.
       2014 - Srimathi Marti Annapurna Gurunath Award for Excellence in Teaching (Best
      Teacher Award of IIT Madras)